cuteasabuttonandbakes

Just another WordPress.com site

Truffle Brownie Bites

on April 12, 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So for my dad’s birthday I wanted to make him something. And of course he & my mother are on a “diet” gag. So I looked in my handy dandy Cupcake Bible for a mini recipe & found que music Truffle Brownie Bites. Yum! They looked good & simple, I needed to get some confidence back since I totally botched the chicken from a few nights ago. Anywho collected all my ingredients ( just message me if you want the recipe) semisweet chocolate chips, one stick of unsalted butter, sugar, 3 eggs (brown & nasty) flour, whipping cream & sprinkles. Then of course all my other supplies, baking cups, measuring cups etc. I preheated the oven than got to work. I combined some of the chips with the butter & microwaved it for 30 seconds. First try didn’t go so well, barely melted. The second round got both the butter & the chocolate melted. Then I added the sugar. These three things mixed together was kinda nasty & I was very disappointed how gross it smelled.  Then came the eggs (ew) and vanilla. Then came the flour, it called for 1 cup minus 2 tablespoons. I thought that was rather odd. Salt then into the muffin cups they went. I used what I had left over of the silver, blue poka dot & green poka dot cups. AND I used my new scooper!!! Yay! It was so easy to put this mix in since my scoop wasn’t broken! Yay! I baked them for 15 minutes then let they cool. Some of the first batch were a little small so I made sure to fill up the cups more with the second batch. And they turned out a lighter brown that I thought they were but that’s ok 🙂 Ganache! I was pretty excited about this part. So I placed the whipping cream into a small saucepan & brought that to a simmer. The directions then said after it was brought to a simmer take it off & add the chocolate off the heat. I didn’t think the chocolate was going to melt but it did ( it probably helped I used the mini chips) After this I set up my station. cupcakes, ganache, sprinkles. At first I dipped the cupcakes into the ganache then placed them into the sprinkles, way too many sprinkles, but I did a few like this just cuz I thought they looked awesome. For a few I had to use a knife & spread it on like frosting. But when it came to sprinkles it worked best just to sprinkle a few on. I dropped a few but mostly I think I did ok 🙂 They turned out lovely! Very simple! The brothers were fans. Pat said he wanted more but I said he had to wait until Dad got some since it was his birthday! Mom tried one right after she brushed her teeth & couldn’t really taste it 😡 but I thought they were very yummy! And I didn’t make as big of a mess that I thought I was going to!

One response to “Truffle Brownie Bites

  1. Paulie says:

    I like the looks of the ones that have lots of sprinkles on them . . . but that’s probably because I don’t care a whole lot for chocolate. Wondering how your blog says the 12th if you made them when your Dad was home Ü –Thought he had duty Wednesday and Thursday is the 12th. Oh well. Maybe you made them last night and scheduled it for today. . . Ü Hope he has a great birthday!

Leave a Reply

